Whale Watch Kaikoura Cold Water Surf Classic 2012

Kahutara epic wall.. what to do
Nice fins out hack at Meaties
A solid Meatworks left

The swell was pumping for the Kaikoura Whale Watch Surf Comp letting the surfers revel in epic Kahutara, Meatworks and Mangamanu all to themselve.. jealous much!! A big shout out to Jared Crawford who won the Cadets.

Kaikoura played host to the final round of the South Island surf circuit for 2012, on Queens birthday weekend. Day 1 was a beautiful sunny day with little wind down at the K, the ocean rolling beautiful double overheads at the beach for the masters, juniors, seniors & grand masters heats.

Day 2 another lovely sunny day at Kahutara, swell having dropped to 3ft producing an awesome field for the womans, cadets and longboard heats. Day 3 was held at meatworks, meaties had possibly its best waves of the year on display, late morning was pumping to say the least, semi finalists able to showcase there skill on the great waves. 2pm

Day 3 the southerly hit kaikoura during the Masters final and completely flattened & slopped the waves at meatworks, the competition was moved up the coast to Mangamaunu, where the bay sheltered the bitter southerly and provided long rides for the finals.


1st. Nash Robertson
2nd. Ambrose McNeil
3rd. Josh Martin
4th. Matt McCrory

1st. Alicia Lock
2nd. Haley Baxter
3rd. Leilani Morgan-Brain
4th. Tammy Martin

1st. Jared Crawford
2nd. Max Marshall
3rd. Harrison Whiteside
4th. Niwa Ututaonga

1st. Hugh Ritchie
2nd. Jacob Cohn
3rd. Harrison Whiteside
4th. Cody McCusker

1st. Hayden Brain
2nd. Nick Black
3rd. Josh Thick-Penny
4th. Dane Robertson

1st. Dave Lyons
2nd. Alan TeMoananui
3rd. Richard Baxter
4th. Aaron Surgenor

Grand Masters:
1st. Richard Baxter
2nd. Neil Robb
3rd. John Roussey
4th. Tony Low

The Whale Watch Surf Classic was proudly supported by:

-Mt Lyford Alpine Resort
-The Whaler
-Encounter Kaikoura
-Southern Paua
-Surge Surfboards Kaikoura
-Pacific Pools
-McCrory Plumbing
-R&R Sport
-Monkey Business
-Ace 4WD
-Te Aroha
-Board Silly
-SML Fort

Edit by Me (Quinn Nicholls)

Songs in sequence:

Ed Solo - Raspberry Dub

Oddisee - Iz U Wit It

Kolab - Sidewayz

Tiki - Always On My Mind (Mosus & Zero T Remix)